North and Standard Club Logo Lockup

Soon to be

Standard Club and North are becoming NorthStandard on 20 February 2023. For more information on NorthStandard visit our info page. If you would like more information regarding the changes for Standard Club members and clients click here.

View Russia / Ukraine conflict updates here

Safety and Loss Advisory Committees (SLACs)

These unique committees were established on the advice of the club’s board in 1989 to bring together senior technical and marine directors from the club’s membership, with first-hand experience and knowledge of tackling complex issues.

There are three committees, one each for:

  • the Asia region, serving our members based in Asia
  • the Europe and Americas region, covering both blue-water and offshore-energy-related shipping
  • the club’s London Class, which is for smaller coastal and inland waterways vessels. 

The committees report directly to the club’s board and meet at least twice a year. They examine claims trends and individual claims to determine root causes and recommend preventative measures. 

They also discuss the implications of new regulations and review loss prevention initiatives and other topical subjects affecting the maritime industry. These discussions provide vital direction and detailed input to our loss prevention approach. 

For example, it was a SLAC recommendation that led to development of our member risk reviews, which are now a vital and effective part of the club’s quality assurance process.

Related content

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.