For the latest news, updates and advice on COVID-19 click here

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy

Accept and close
Emergency Number +44 7932 113573



News: COVID-19 cases reported in five new member states

02 March 2020

The latest Situation Report no. 41 issued by the WHO on 1 March 2020 states that there are now reported cases of COVID-19 in five new member states in the last 24 hours: Azerbaijan, Ecuador, Ireland, Monaco and Qatar.

Elsewhere, cases have also been reported today in Indonesia, Iceland, Portugal, Armenia and Andorra.

The WHO is working closely with global experts, governments and partners to rapidly expand scientific knowledge on this new virus, to track the spread and virulence of the virus, and to provide advice to countries and individuals on measures to protect health and prevent the spread of this outbreak.

The WHO has also published updated recommendations for international traffic in relation to COVID-19, which can be found here. This contains a number of helpful reminders to international travellers to help avoid/contain the virus.