For the latest news, updates and advice on COVID-19 click here

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy

Accept and close
Emergency Number +44 7932 113573



Web Alert: 2014 Indonesia & Singapore Sea Border Agreement Ratified by Indonesian Parliament

01 February 2017

On 15 December 2016, Indonesia’s Parliament passed a bill ratifying the Treaty between the Republic of Indonesia and the Republic of Singapore relating to the Delimitation of the Territorial Seas of the Two Countries in the Eastern Part of the Strait of Singapore (2014 Treaty) which was signed by the two southeast Asian states in 2014.

When the 2014 Treaty comes into force, it will demarcate a border covering 5.1 nautical miles in the eastern part of the Straits of Singapore and would be pivotal in regulating territorial seas, upholding state sovereignty and enforcing the law in these global shipping lanes.

The 2014 Treaty together with two previous treaties concluded between the two countries in 1973 and 2009, respectively, demarcate 67.3 km of the sea border in the Singapore Strait.

The exchange of the instruments of ratification in respect of the 2014 Treaty and the publication of the date of its coming into force are expected to follow. The club will issue an update to our members in due course.

See map and news flash​.